New Beta Gamma Sigma Members and Scholarships

l to r: Wilhelm Althammer, Arnis Vilks, Patrick Möbius, Stephan Stubner, Heiko Hinrichs, Bernhard Schwetzler

As one of ten AACSB-accredited business schools in Germany, HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management hosts the oldest German chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS), the world’s first truly global honor society in business. Membership is increasingly recognized as a mark of academic excellence, and every year the chapter invites the top 20 per cent of graduates from HHL’s programs and all who completed HHL’s doctoral program to become members. HHL’s Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma now totals 661 life members. The Mission of the International Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma is “to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business, to cultivate and celebrate leadership and professional excellence, to advance the values of the Society, and to serve its lifelong members”.

2017, the BGS scholarship as a recognition for the best of the best was jointly funded by the Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter at HHL and the Association of Friends of HHL. It is now given to equally qualified scholars : Patrick Möbius from the Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe Chair of Macroeconomics, and Heiko Hinrichs from the Chair of Financial Management at HHL, each of them receiving an amount of 500 EUR. Both are recognised as the best postgraduates of HHL and in addition, Heiko Hinrichs has been elected the best reasearch assistant of the year.

Patrick Möbius

In his recommendation, Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Althammer, HHL faculty member, macroeconomics chair owner and the nominee’s PhD advisor, mentions Patrick Möbius’s outstanding academic strength to convert research ideas into empirical experiments which he carefully conducts with sound econometric analysis. Patrick Möbius has already written two research papers, which were accepted for presentation at renowned international conferences in Sweden (Umea University), France (Montpellier Business School) and England (Regional Studies Association). Before his PhD, Patrick Möbius successfully graduated from his master studies among the top 10 per cent of students in his year. During his community service, Patrick Möbius worked as a health care assistant at the geriatric department of Klinikum Chemnitz. Inside HHL, he has been leading and supporting several student teams in project work.

Heiko Hinrichs

In his recommendation for Heiko Hinrichs, Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schwetzler, HHL faculty member and the nominee’s PhD advisor, mentions the outstanding efficiency and flexibility as being Dr. Hinrichs principal talents and strengths. Heiko Hinrichs’s ability to quickly grasp the key elements of a scientific problem allow him to provide excellent guidance for students and to support co-researchers in working with empirical data. During his master studies (M.Sc.) at HHL, Heiko Hinrichs won a national scholarship “The Deutschlandstipendium” and a DAAD scholarship (awarded by the German Academic Exchange Service). Also, he belonged to the top 20 per cent of students of his class, thus, being entitled to become member of the Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter at HHL. Beyond his academic experience, Heiko Hinrichs serves as the representative

of HHL’s research associates in the HHL senate, and works as tutor and jury member of “business@school” – an HHL student initiative that aims at enhancing teaching business knowledge at regular schools.

We would like to thank the Association of Friends of HHL for co-financing this scholarship, thus rewarding both the academic performance and the social commitment of these two chapter members. HHL’s BGS chapter and the entire HHL community warmly congratulate Patrick Möbius and Heiko Hinrichs on their nomination for the BGS scholarship.

Beate Kanheissner is the author of this article and – next to Prof. Dr. Arnis Vilks –  the contact for HHL’s BGS Chapter of the International Business Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma 

We proudly present the 44 new members of HHL’s BGS Chapter who were inducted end of 2017:

Anil Balci       PMSc7C
Anika Baumhauer     M17
Frederik Bohn    M17
Tim Brauer    MSc16
Dr. Ulrich Bremer     Doctoral Program
Lisa Bubner   MSc16
Thilo Burdessa         MSc16
Benjamin Crist         M17
Ying Cui        M17
Florian Fischer        MSc16
Dr. Michael Förster   Doctoral Program
Nathalie Grün        GEMBA 4
Dr. Marcus Haberstroh     Doctoral Program
Melissa Hack    PMSc7
Dr. Anja Hagedorn     Doctoral Program
Dr. Stephan Hans      Doctoral Program
Emily Heineking     PMSc7
Dr. Alexander Hiller  Doctoral Program
Tina Anne Hoffmann      MSc16
Ilias Ikarri     MSc16
Christopher Katzinski      PMSc7C
Felix Kneiding      PMSc7C
Jakob Felix Kriependorf    MSc16
Daniel Kühne     GEMBA 4
Dr. Björn Mathes       GEMBA 4
Christian Melzer     MSc16
Moritz Michel  PMSc7C
Sebastian Peick       MSc16
Irene Rentrop      MSc16
Anindhia Restraningtyas      M17
Julia Reszel    MSc16
Sebastian Schmidt       PMSc7
Aaron Schrader       PMSc7C
Tobias Schulz        MSc16
Arvind Sivaraman     M17
Yang Song     M17
Dr. Michael Suurendonk      Doctoral Program
Marvin Thielking       PMSc7C
Luis Villacorta      M17
Jason Camrron Ward      GEMBA 4
Dr. Anja Wiesmeier       Doctoral Program
Tobias Wildegger      M17
Ahmed Yassin      M17
Dr. Konstantin Zech      Doctoral Program