Tessen von Heydebreck (*1945)


Dr. jur. Tessen von Heydebreck has been Chairman of the Supervisory Board of HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management since November 1, 2009. He succeeded Dr. Bernhard Walter in this position (serving from 2001 to 2009), former Chairman of the Executive Board of Dresdner Bank, Dr. Ludwig Trippen (1998 to 2001), former member of the Executive Board of WestLB and Inaugural Dean of HHL, as well as Prof. Dr. Helmut Sihler (1993 to 1997), former Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Porsche AG and former Interim Chairman of the Executive Board of Deutsche Telekom AG.

Dr. von Heydebreck and, with him, Deutsche Bank are closely connected to HHL. Deutsche Bank set a milestone in the cooperation with the business school in mid-2007 through its endowment of EUR 1,000,000 for the Kramer Foundation of HHL. In 2011, at the same time Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart was appointed Dean, the Stiftungsfonds Deutsche Bank endowment fund established the Chair of Innovation Management and Entrepreneurship at HHL.

Von Heydebreck, who has a doctoral degree in Law, joined Deutsche Bank in 1974. Between 1994 and 2007, he was a member of the Executive Board. During this time, Dr. von Heydebreck’s responsibilities included private and business customers as well as asset management. He was particularly interested in establishing and expanding the business in the Central and Eastern European countries, focusing especially on Russia and Poland. In his last position as the Chief Administrative Officer on the Executive Board, he oversaw the areas of HR, Legal, Auditing, Compliance and CSR, and was in charge of the region of Central and Eastern Europe.

Following the 2007 Annual Shareholders’ Meeting, he resigned from the Executive Board on grounds of age. He stayed with the company as the Chairman of Deutsche Bank Stiftung until January 1, 2013.

Dr. von Heydebreck is committed to cultural and social causes in various ways. He serves as the Chairman of the Board of Deutsche Stiftung Denkmalschutz (German Foundation for Monument Protection) and Honorary Chairman of the Board of Trustees of IJP Internationale Journalisten-Programme  e.V. Until November 2010, he was a member of the Board of Management of the Committee on Eastern European Economic Relations.

In 2007, he initiated the establishment of the German-Polish Foundation for the Preservation of Cultural Heritage and contributed endowment funds.

Dr. von Heydebreck is a member of the Supervisory Boards of Postbank, Vattenfall Europe, the German Energy Agency (dena) as well as the Foundation Board of Dussmann Verwaltungs AG.

With regard to HHL and its innovate125 Future Concept Dr. von Heydebreck says: „HHL must grow in a structured manner and maintain its high standards for quality. Having sharpened its profile, HHL will distinguish itself from its competitors. This is the way to attract more supporters for a broader range of course offerings at HHL and to achieve the increase in student numbers it is striving for.”

Photo: Presseabteilung DB